WESTLAND LIMITED is a wholly owned subsidiary of Trent Limited, the retail arm of the Tata group, the largest diversified industrial group in India.  Westland is an amalgamation of two companies, EastWest Books (Madras) Pvt Ltd. and Westland Books Pvt Ltd. EastWest Books established in 1996 was a successor company to the south India operations of Affiliated East West Press Private Limited, New Delhi, established in 1962.  Thus EastWest has a long history of over 45 years in both publishing and distribution.  During these years, it has published works of eminent writers like agricultural scientist Prof.M S Swaminathan, well known journalist T J S George, film historian Theodore Bhaskaran, Madras historian S Muthiah, writer activists Sudha Murty and Sivasankari, Tamil writers Ambai and Asokamitran, Malayalam writer Mukundan, etc.


As the present company Westland Limited is an amalgam of three specialist companies, it has the expertise both in retailing and distribution of books, besides publishing quality literature.

After more than 50 years of experience in import and distribution of major academic and English language trade publications from all over the world, Westland’s focus has shifted to publishing in the last 3-4 years.  Today, Westland would be the fifth largest English language trade publisher in India.  Westland’s best selling authors include Amish Tripathi, Ashwin Sanghi, Devdutt Pattanaik, Ashok Banker, Rujuta Diwekar, Rashmi Bansal, Anita and Harsha Bhogle and Preeti Shenoy among others.  Since Neilsen has started their Bookscan in India which tracks bestselling titles across the country, Westland has consistently had a strong presence in the top 50 best selling charts.  Some of the authors have also found a place  in the Forbes list.


It has three imprints currently, which are:


Tranquebar Press – for literary fiction and non fiction

Westland – for trade books (fiction and non fiction)

EastWest – for south India heritage and academic cross over books


Westland has also ventured into Hindi language publishing and childrens’ books.


Copyright © 2010. All Rights Reserved
Site Developed by Infomedia Web Solutions